Your Cart

In 1992, Michael Knott’s band L.S. Underground released their rock opera The Grape Prophet. It tells the story of Ellis, an orange picker who is sent by his boss Col. Peckesen to rescue his fellow pickers from the clutches of the Grape Prophet, who has lured them away. Both sonically and lyrically, the album was a revelation, and has remained a favorite of fans and critics ever since.

The album was originally released by Knott’s own Blonde Vinyl on CD and cassette, and it has been out of print for nearly 30 years. After an extremely successful Kickstarter, Lost in Ohio is pleased to announce the album’s reissue as a double LP vinyl (available in Grape or Orange – now sold out), as well as deluxe CD. For the all-new artwork, Knott has created five new original paintings, all themed around the characters and story within the album. Additionally, four of the album’s original tracks have been re-recorded as bonus acoustic versions. The new recordings feature strings by Luke Moller (Carrie Underwood, Kasey Musgraves) and performances from Steve Hindalong (The Choir), Jesse Sprinkle (Poor Old Lu) and Rick McDonough (Struck Last May). The new tracks were recorded by Rick McDonough, mixed by Derri Daugherty (The Choir), and all 14 tracks have been newly mastered by Adam Boose.

  1. Ellis in the Orchard
  2. Travels
  3. The Fold
  4. Wino of the Red is Stained
  5. The Grape Prophet Speaks
  6. English Interpreter of English
  7. Ellis Speaks With Prophets
  8. A Group of Prophets Predict the Pickers’ Future Without Them
  9. She Said
  10. Back to the Orchard
  11. Ellis in the Orchard (Acoustic)
  12. The Fold (Acoustic)
  13. English Interpreter of English (Acoustic)
  14. She Said (Acoustic)

All vinyl and CD orders include a complimentary digital download.